- What are Trusted Media Links and Embeds?
- How do I Turn on Trusted Media Links and Embeds on my Site?
- What Kinds of Things Can I do With Trusted Media Links and Embeds?
- How do I Create a Trusted Link or a Trusted Embed?
- Roles that Control Who Can Share Content
Trusted media links and embeds allow users to share private MediaCore content with people who normally would not have access to the content, including people who don’t have a MediaCore account.
This feature is currently in beta and needs to be enabled in MediaCore Labs.
1. To do this, click on the cog and select "Settings".
2. Next click on "MediaCore Labs" > check off the box next to "Enable Trusted Embeds" and click "Save".
1. You can send trusted media links in an email to colleagues to share the latest video you have uploaded. Perhaps you uploaded it to a private collection but want their opinion on before you move it into your course collection.
2. You can use trusted media embeds to embed a private video into an external website. Perhaps this video exists in a collection that isn’t normally accessible by the public, but you’d like public users to view it.
1. To create trusted embeds navigate to the share modal on any media view page. Users with the appropriate “share” permissions will be able to open the share modal by clicking on the share icon (below).
2. Once clicked, users will be presented with a share model (below). From here they can select which type of link or embed they’d like to create. The options provided are based on the role they are assigned within the collection.
- Only users who have permission - The permalink or embed in this case will not be trusted and only users who have access to the content will be able to view the media.
- All authenticated users - The permalink or embed is trusted and any user who has a login to your MediaCore site will be able to view the media.
- Anyone (public) - The permalink or embed is trusted and anyone with the link or access to the embed or link will be able to view the media.
In the Roles pane of your Site Settings you will see a section called “Media Sharing”.
In this section there are three options for how users can share content:
- Share with users that already have access - Allow users to generate a regular link or embed (not trusted). Only users with access to the media in MediaCore can view it.
- Share with any registered user - Allow users to generate a trusted link or embed that they can share with users who already have MediaCore accounts.
- Share with anyone - Allow users to generate a trusted embed or link that they can share with anyone regardless of if they have a MediaCore account or not.